Southern novels

July 11, 2015

There’s a lot of discussion about the publication of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman, and people have been talking about what To Kill a Mockingbird has meant to them and/or to the country and American literature.  I have been scouring my memories for what To Kill a Mockingbird meant to me.

I think it upset me, and I think I was unable to sit through the entire movie made from it.

I think I read at roughly the same time Carson McCullers’ The Member of the Wedding, and I know that that book made a lasting impression on me.  My mother and I used to use its title to refer to similar situations we knew, and even in a more general way, to other situations of attempted enmeshment in other people’s personal relations.

I have been thinking that this renewed interest in Harper Lee’s books may actually get me to reread McCullers’ The Member of the Wedding yet again.

4 Responses to “Southern novels”

    • Diana Moses Says:

      I don’t think I’ve read a quote from Harper Lee explaining why she changed her mind about publishing the old draft — such an explanation would reflect an ability to remember her previous position and indicate that she was engaging in a deliberate act, it seems to me, rather than just going along with her lawyer or whoever began this.

  1. Jeff in New Jersey Says:

    All of this is quite cryptic to me, Diana. I have not read either novel, and wonder whether I should. Might you not have added a little of what the two novels are about ? “Mockingbird” is a familiar title and I remember when it had a vogue, but I have never read it.


Leave a Reply

