Pests?

June 9, 2015

I learned today that the large wild rose bush growing next to the stump of the pear tree is considered an invasive species.  I was looking it up online to see how big it is likely to grow.  Here’s how it looks now:

IMG_0766

IMG_0772

Three to five meters, is what I read.

My other welcomed guest that is considered a pest are the rabbits that have been happily eating the clover in my lawn (which is probably itself also a pest).  The rabbits I’ve also seen eat leaves off the rose bush, I might add.

Anyway, another couple of wild rose bushes are growing in front of my house, among the foundation shrubs, near the front stairs.  I am actually kind of grateful for those as well, because where they’ve taken root I don’t think I would have been able to get anything that I bought at a nursery to grow.

I enjoy the low maintenance of the wild rose bushes and the wild bunnies.  Of course I am aware that there may come a point when the balance changes and I find I am having too much of what I had considered to be a good thing.  I read that to get rid of rosa multiflora, I will have to dig it out by the roots.  In the meantime, I am enjoying my pest ecosystem, if I can call it that.

2 Responses to “Pests?”

  1. Matthew Brooks Says:

    I like the things that grow wild.

    They’re generally better for you too.

    http://health.clevelandclinic.org/2014/03/fish-faceoff-wild-salmon-vs-farmed-salmon/

    Wild plants and animals have a strength/viability (by necessity) that domesticated animals don’t, and that viability translates into health benefits (“you are what you eat”).

    There are moral considerations as well; farmed salmon in particular is especially cruel because they are naturally programmed to return to their breeding grounds (upriver), and if they’re stuck in a cage they can’t.

    • Diana Moses Says:

      I was thinking about the wild/domesticated distinction when I was walking back from the Reservoir this afternoon and thinking about whether I want to have another dog. And I thought, I really like seeing animals in the wild at this point in my life, I get a big thrill out of coming across one (or more), and I really enjoy them, and maybe that’s where I am now in my love for animals, loving them in the wild.


Leave a Reply

