Whose birthday card?

January 17, 2014

I got a birthday card from my father’s stockbroker’s group.  It’s signed by the people in the group, it’s addressed to me on the envelope.

It’s also two weeks after my birthday and two weeks before my dad’s.

I don’t actually have an account in my own name with them.  They know me, at this point, as my mother’s daughter and as executor to my father’s estate.

So it made me wonder whether the production of the card had been triggered by my birthday or by my father’s.  (It is also probably significant that I tend to be early with celebrating birthdays.)

And then I realized that the ambiguity (at least perceived by me) was fitting to my structural position as executor on my father’s behalf.

Leave a Reply

