Marzipan

December 7, 2013

I spent most of today working on matters to do with my father’s estate.  Earlier in the week I had come across some checks he had written last January, and it gave me one of those pangs one gets when loss is registered — seeing his handwriting did that.

So he’s been on my mind of late.

Tonight we went food shopping, and, lo and behold, in the bakery section of the supermarket, just in time for the holiday season, were little sets of marzipan candies, molded as fruits.

My father loved marzipan, year round.  I think he would have gotten a kick out of this stuff, but I’m also pretty sure we would have been hearing about how this was not die echte (authentic) Marzipan from Lübeck.  (I think it’s from Long Island.)  But it was fine with me, and I put a package in our shopping cart.

2 Responses to “Marzipan”

  1. James Koppel Says:

    re: marzipan. My neighborhood sometimes has marzipan “challas”. re: remembrance via handwriting: I still have my maternal grandmother’s voice on an old answering machine tape. re: estates: What ever happened to Grandma’s ruby red dinner glasses?

    • Diana Moses Says:

      About those ruby red glasses: I don’t know what happened to them. I was at summer camp when Grandma died and no one told me she had died until they picked me up at the end of camp (but I had some great letters from her that summer), so clearly I was not included much in the proceedings. I found Grandpa living with us when I got home, which was nice, though. Our mothers, I think, decided on what to keep and what to give to the Salvation Army, although I was able to ask for the curio cabinet (still have it, it’s in a nook off my foyer). I missed those glasses, too, and when I saw some (I think they’re the same thing, although they might just be similar) in an antique store a few years ago, I bought a couple. If you want them, I can send them to you.


Leave a Reply

