In writing, from an accepted source

August 28, 2013

Recently I gave my paper copy of the article “What’s Wrong With Me?” by Meghan O’Rourke in the August 26th issue of The New Yorker magazine to a friend of mine.  Some of what O’Rourke describes my friend had described to me years ago, including symptoms whose difficulty to tolerate is compounded by their difficulty to explain to others without causing further problems for the sufferer.

My friend loved it, brought it to work with her to show a staff member who is also in that same boat, showed it to the boss, the staff member to her husband, and on and on.

It’s a big hit.

I think part of it is the author’s ability to observe so accurately what goes on within her and then to communicate that to the reader.

My friend works with scientists and educators at a very high level, in an elite science research facility.  To persuade people in that context of what it is like to experience autoimmune disorders like Hashimoto’s disease, one needs not only an article with accurate content and articulate presentation, but it really helps if it is published in a magazine recognized by the audience as a good source.

I gave my friend the article thinking it would be helpful to her to read of other people coping with similar unusual symptoms.  I am glad that it turns out to be of help to so many other people.

2 Responses to “In writing, from an accepted source”

  1. James Koppel Says:

    David Remnick is my mother’s cousin. My great grandparents, Adolph (Avrohom) and Sadie Spieler are his grandparents.

    • Diana Moses Says:

      The friend to whom I gave the article asked if I would like half a loaf of challah. She isn’t Jewish, but her family is from the Lvov area (as the Koppels and the Hechts are, as I understand it) and there seems to be a lot of overlap in food and recipe choices. There’s the spaghetti and farmer cheese type dish, for example, and challah and pasca bread at Easter. The challah she gave me is excellent. Happy New Year.


Leave a Reply

