Dhyana

May 8, 2013

My parents had friends we used to see socially, our families even vacationed together.  They had three daughters, one my sister’s age, one mine, and one a few years younger.  My dad and Mr. F. loved classical music, especially Mahler, and they had known each other since college, I think, and were both engineers.

The other day I was looking up how to pronounce “dhyana,” a word for deep meditation associated with Hinduism.  And the way I heard it pronounced is the way Mrs. F. always pronounced my name Diana, which she did with great volume and drama.

This is an illustration of a phenomenon I have encountered before.  The similarity between my name and a word for deep meditation indicates quite a lot more to me than a seemingly idiosyncratic pronunciation of my name; it’s as if something has come into better focus, as if the energy now shows up in a more accessible form, the piece of the puzzle has found its place.

I’ve known for a while that I have been filling in a stage of spiritual development, for someone who feared they would bottom out in it, that is penultimate.  Being able to put a name to it helps me move to another phase, either of this same project or of my own work.

4 Responses to “Dhyana”

  1. kleimheist Says:

    What is your Hebrew name and that of your father?

    • Diana Moses Says:

      Why do you want to know?


      • I thought that perhaps you could ascribe some of your personal affinities and personality traits to your Hebrew name, as you have done regarding your “English” name in this post. It is possible that you don’t know your Hebrew name or were not ever given one. My own dear mother was given a Hebrew name by a religious school teacher at as a young girl. Regarding Hebrew- it was the original language of mankind from the Creation until the generation of the Tower of Babel. Having studied several ancient near-east languages and a smattering of Greek, I can tell you that what I say can be clearly illustrated showing the morphology from Phoenician (ancient Hebrew vernacular) characters to the Greek letters which we use abundantly in our own English. I could go on, but Shabbos is soon arriving….

      • Diana Moses Says:

        Good Shabbos.


Leave a Reply

