Weeds in the lawn

May 5, 2013

My grandfather, my mother’s father, lived with us for a few months after my grandmother died, until he found a retirement home he liked.  While he lived with us, I watched more baseball (with the sound off).  I want to say it was the Mets, but my mother doesn’t think so.  But I do clearly remember he thought the dandelions in the lawn should be left alone.

I think I have that thought about what I have thought of as spiritual spam — miscellaneous stuff that comes in when I open myself up to the universe at large.

Gita made the obvious point to me not long ago that there’s a difference between the psychic and the spiritual.  We were talking about a neighbor of mine, and Gita commented that she could be psychically and not spiritually developed.

I think, maybe, I am too tolerant of the psychic because I think it contains the potential for spiritual development.  Maybe I’m wrong about that.

I don’t think I’ve ever really thought about how the psychic and the spiritual relate to each other beyond that the former seems to me to be about relationships on a horizontal plane and the latter about relationships either along a vertical axis or into other dimensions.  But I think I’ve thought that the apparatus used is the same — like using the same cell phone for different types of phone calls.  But that’s just an unexamined assumption I’ve been working under, and it may well be wrong.

So I am going to let that issue percolate somewhere within me:  what do the psychic and the spiritual have in common and how are they different, including in terms of technique and apparatus?  Are they related to one another?  Can one mimic the other?  Has that confused people and deterred them from spiritual development?

Gita has counseled me for a long time to practice better spiritual technique so that my spam problem dissipates.  I don’t know if it’s willful laziness on my part or heeding a deeper call that I don’t.  Gita calls me a kinetic sponge, and that seems to be a pretty accurate summation.  Maybe that’s how I’m supposed to be, I don’t know, in order to do what I do (or have done), but I suspect that issue is entangled with my tendency not to distinguish the psychic from the spiritual — I open all channels, take it all in from whatever means the sender can muster.

Willy got a kick out of garment tags that caution the buyer not to mistake the “slurbs and nubblies” in, say, a sweater, for mistakes and defects.  (I think they’re called “slubs,” I suspect “slurbs and nubblies” was Willy’s contribution, maybe modeled on “nooks and crannies” from the Thomas’ English Muffin commercials, but maybe a riff on a phrasing that was actually contained in a tag.)  I wouldn’t want to do something similar.  Certainly we try to figure out an appropriate posture for dealing with the slurbs and nubblies of our humanness.

But I know I run up against an unpleasant pattern of being caught up short by having mistaken a person’s abilities of one sort for abilities of another, and that doesn’t serve anybody.

If nothing else, I can be aware of all these factors even if I’m not sure how they fit together — a little detachment is often a first step towards sorting something out.

4 Responses to “Weeds in the lawn”

  1. Matthew Brooks Says:

    I think dandelions are magnificent. First a flower with the radiance of the sun, then a soft white orb, like the full moon – there’s something almost magical about them.

    The roots are strong and deep; the stems grow straight and fast. They even grow thru cracks in rocks. It’s something like the manifestation of will and perseverance; “the teeth of the lion”.

    The roots are also useful to treat the liver. It’s as if the same property that makes them so enduring causes them to be able to reach within our selves, where other things can’t, and cleanse us thereby (it being a benevolent being itself).

    I don’t know why people don’t like them. There’s something almost neurotic with the modern insistence upon a sterile, uniform lawn. Even so, they keep on growing.

    • Diana Moses Says:

      That’s a powerful paean to the dandelion.

      As a kid I was fascinated by the milkiness of the stems.

      I think we’ve come to treat yards more like interior rooms than like private pieces of nature. All that mulch starts looking like carpeting, or something.

  2. Matthew Brooks Says:

    My wife gave birth to a son this morning. 2 stories up on the hospital roof adjacent to our room is growing a dandelion.


Leave a Reply

