Good lines

May 5, 2013

I have been spending a fair amount of time and energy trying to help my mother with her finances and trying to line up some professional help to manage them.  I am glad this work is producing some memorable lines, since the work itself can be kind of trying.

One line was the opening line from a phone call from a potential financial manager who had just reviewed some documents:  “Your father must have been a very smart man.”

Yes, he was.

Another line came from my mother’s reaction to hearing some numbers from a balance sheet compiled by another potential manager (neither she nor I had ever tried to put it all together):  “Well, then why do I have weeds in my lawn?”

My mother can be droll and feisty.

 

Leave a Reply

