Liver levels

April 28, 2013

I had a physical recently because my doctor’s office basically told me it was the only way I could be assured of having a doctor there.  (I needed to be assigned to another doctor when my previous PCP left the practice.)  The blood work disclosed an elevated level in the liver panel, so I was told to get another test done in two to three weeks.  Which I did, and the level is now normal.

What made this a little more interesting was the fact that this was the symptom that Willy had ten years ago this spring that led to his diagnosis of bile duct cancer.  He had had blood work done in January of 2003, and the doctor never mentioned an elevated liver test result when he discussed the results with him.  But he called Willy in in May of that year for a physical, which puzzled both of us, and that’s when the cascade of events began.

Years later I wondered whether the January tests would have shown an elevated level in the liver panel since the May test was as high as it was.  (Willy was dead before the end of August.)  Eventually I asked a doctor relative about it.  They thought it probably had been elevated but expressed confidence that the doctor had used an appropriate interval between tests.  I had wondered whether the doctor had not noticed the result initially and whether that might account for what seemed to me a lengthy interval and a lack of communication.

I don’t think I’m going to try to find out whether the retesting protocol has changed during the past ten years.  I suspect I’m better off letting the whole thing go, again.

2 Responses to “Liver levels”

  1. Napoleon Says:

    Diana,
    That was a very acute comment you posted today to Maureen Dowd’s column in the NY Times..


Leave a Reply

