Half and half

March 29, 2013

The other day I was being asked about whether I flush easily, for example, when eating spicy food or drinking alcoholic beverages.  I don’t think I do, but then I remembered a story my mother loves to tell about the first time I had a sip or two of wine.

I was probably about nine and the wine was probably left over from a dinner party my parents had had and they were probably finishing it up with dinner the next day.  It was red wine (that I do remember).  Shortly after I had drunk a little, my parents exclaimed that one half of my face had turned bright red (along a vertical axis).  They even sent me to the mirror in the downstairs hall to see.  I remember not being sure what they were seeing when I looked.

When I chose this picture

July, 2011

for this blog and as an avatar for other uses online, I chose it because it was recent and because I liked the expression on my face.  My dad immediately commented about my being half in shadow, which I hadn’t really noticed.

In geometry we can draw a line from two points.  I’m not sure I can draw one from these two things, but I could throw in the mythological associations with my first name.  The moon we see is half in light, half in darkness.

What would I then draw from this?  That there are states of mind that I have achieved that allow me to see both the darkness and the light, and that I have to be careful about keeping the two in balance.

 

2 Responses to “Half and half”

  1. Richard Says:

    Reminds me, of course, of yin/yang. A more contemporary version of that thought (for me) is the dualistic nature which we constantly work towards bringing into sync, towards a unified axis. The picture does represent your contemplation well

    • Diana Moses Says:

      Thank you, Richard. I chuckled at the last line you wrote. If I may go from the sublime to the edible, also reminds me of what are sometimes called “Black and Whites” — those cookies you buy in a bakery that are iced half with vanilla and half with chocolate.


Leave a Reply

