Feather report

March 29, 2013

I think it’s from the tail of a Wild Turkey.  I found it in the street earlier today while I was out walking.  It’s about 16 inches long, black with a reddish brown horizontal stripe pattern and a lighter reddish brown tip.  It’s also not in great condition — the shaft is splitting and frayed.  It looks as if maybe it spent a bunch of time under a snow bank at the curb where I found it.  But it’s BIG, kind of magnificent despite the wear and tear.  I think the Wild Turkey is our state game bird here in MA, so maybe it pulls at my feelings of respect on that account, too.

Leave a Reply

