Beads

December 21, 2012

I was reading Richard Rohr’s post about incarnation this morning, how it’s a big focus of God’s.

And I could read his post as saying it’s God’s big focus, as in, his chief focus.  But I’m not sure he actually says that.

Anyway, I think it may very well be a big focus but I don’t think it’s more important than other aspects of the universe, I think it’s more like the big deal for our part of the universe and that we’ve gotten stuck trying to get those pieces (spirit and material) to meld together.  Sometimes there’s too much heat and the components lose their identity, implode, and become something inert, sometimes there’s not enough and the identities are fine but there’s no union and therefore no transformation into some third thing.

I can see Jesus’ teachings as trying to get people to do this melding, but I can also see distortions in the way those teachings have been transmitted.  I think the teachings need to be set out there but that to actual do the melding, coaching is needed, not teaching.  And the coaching is about interior development of individuals, starting with the development of self-awareness.  No one’s going to meld on the basis of having been taught the idea.  Even surrender to God requires the ability to be able to distinguish between our wishful thinking and spiritual understandings if it is to be most helpful.  In the meantime it seems to be something like “two steps forward, one step back” for most of us, I think.

Anyway, I titled this “Beads” because to me, the incarnation issue is one bead on a strand with a number of beads.  Instead of picturing a clasp on the strand, I see our learning to balance spirit and material as what will make one of these beads (the incarnation bead) cohere and become unified, and that this helps the strand be a continuous loop.  While our task may be to focus on this incarnation bead, if we don’t recognize that it is one of a number of beads, I think we can distort its importance and from this, distort our actions in our attempt to unify the bead.  It’s a string of beads, I think, not a pendant.

Leave a Reply

