Gratitude for nuns

May 9, 2012

I was disappointed that the commenting mechanism is not being used for a blog post by Ross Douthat on the recent Vatican response to American nuns, so I figured I could speak my piece here.

After reading the blog post, I was left thinking that the Vatican could be grateful to the American nuns for helping the Church develop its understanding of what Jesus was getting at.

From my point of view, the nuns are in the van on these issues, but I can see that those who put orthodoxy ahead of other concerns probably wouldn’t see it that way.

6 Responses to “Gratitude for nuns”

  1. Richard Says:

    A Sister I know told me emphatically recently that they are not clergy and not beholden to the Bishops like Priests. People assume they are because of the celebacy. Seems that they copped an attitude during the tenure of the last Pope, when he went out of his way to point that out to them. They are a highly independent and spirited bunch.

    Another point of clarification she made to me was that Nuns are those to live in cloistered communities and pray for the world and it’s people. Sisters is the correct term for those active in the social world. They seem undetered to be put in their place and determined to rock on.

    • Diana Moses Says:

      Thank you for these clarifications. When I was in graduate school, I had a friend who was a Sister, who was quite spirited.

      By the way, I received 2 VIP passes to the MFA in today’s mail (I did have to jostle them loose with a follow-up email two days ago) — hope some of your faith in others is restored, maybe? Willy often pointed out that whether a behavior was the result of “stupidity” or “bad intent” was often hard to discern. And in a previous iteration of this pattern (involving library privileges rather than museum passes), I was deceived initially, so I did become concerned here, too. I’m hoping this iteration could indicate that issue for me has been resolved!

      • Richard Says:

        Good News! Enjoy the return trip to the museum
        I’m excited about seeing a Rembrandt exhibit soon

        BTW -back to spirituality, I recommend Richard Rohr, a Franciscian priest from New Mexico and James Hollis his collaborator, who write on ”the second half of life” and stress ”contemplation and authentic self ”over orthodoxy.They must know some Nuns..er..Sisters.

      • Diana Moses Says:

        I’m always thrilled when different faith traditions seem to be able to reach similar understandings, too. I take heart from Ramakrishna’s having said that you can get there from “here” multiple ways, since he actually did.
        A Rembrandt exhibit sounds nice. Reminds me that on the news tonight was more searching for the art stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum so many years ago. For me, for some reason, it was an “I remember where I was and what I doing” moment, like JFK’s assassination or 9/11.
        And thanks for the book suggestions — I will take a look.

      • Diana Moses Says:

        Richard,
        I started reading Rohr’s The Naked Now and I find myself nodding. It’s good for me to see these things related to Christianity by somebody modern and within the Church — gives me hope, maybe? Thanks. Diana

  2. Richard Says:

    Maybe by a thread
    He is teaching the Enneagram at Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky in September. It’s about 5 hours from where I live, so I’m really lookig forward to it.
    I have studied and taught the Enneagram for many years and found every instructor to have their own unique approach


Leave a Reply

