Spiritual gardening

February 7, 2012

I just heard a great teaching, an elaboration on an issue involving having compassion for oneself.

My response (to the issue of having compassion for myself) had something to do with my reaction when others treat me in a way that I find painful and bewildering.  I was wondering how to deal with that, when their message makes me feel undeserving of compassion.  And I heard the insight not to try to get these other people to treat me differently or to get them even to agree that I too deserve compassion, because, I heard, that would be like trying to persuade weeds in a garden not to grow and encroach on the flowers I planted and wish to see flower — to deal with that I need to be addressing my concerns to the Gardener.

Leave a Reply

